A pansexual who's no Peter Pan, Lisa Rosman is a one-stop medium who believes in the Force, the social contract, and you.

I hail from Massachusetts, and am the descendent of a long line of Scottish, Sioux, and Jewish sex, factory, and academic workers who always intuited more than they could rationally explain. A former children's TV actress, I studied at Bryn Mawr and Haverford Colleges.

After university, I studied at the Integral Yoga Institute and with the astrologers and psychics Virginia Bell and Maryann Russell; the energy healers Alysia Tromblay and Jill Purce; Dr. Ann Marie Chiasson of Dr. Andrew Weil’s Integrative Medicine Institute; and the authors Matthew Fox and Rupert Sheldrake, who have written extensively about the connection between science and spirituality.

I’ve also worked as a labor organizer and a travel writer. Most glamorously, I once worked as an assistant for Sesame Street’s Elmo.

Like all good Capricorns, it was not until my 30s that I truly found my footing. In the mid-aughts I was mentored by the late critic Roger Ebert before going on to review films for such outlets as Vulture, Time Out New York, Marie Claire, LA Weekly, CBS, NPR, and Us Weekly, whose research department I ran until joining the PBS Arts show Talking Pictures, where I still work as an on-air movie critic and have been nominated for two Emmys. In 2012 I also was named one of Glamour Magazine’s Women of the Year for my relief work in the wake of Hurricane Sandy.

I’ve also worked as a professional intuitive since 2009, using tools of astrology, tarot, and clairvoyance to read for clients aged 18-101 from all walks of life. (No matter how many times I’m asked, I’ll never say who my clients are unless they reveal themselves first.)

A Brooklyn resident since 1993, I am embracing my space-crone years by people-watching, culture-cruising, thrift-shopping, cauldron-cooking, beach-foraging, genuflecting to my permakitten over-familiar, and generally wearing too much red lipstick. (Once a flaneuzy, always a flaneuzy.) I also conduct one-on-one intuitive readings. You can book a session here. You also can follow me on Instagram.

The Ruby Report is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support this service, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.